Oh, the places you’ll (maybe never) go!

Welcome to The Lounge for another week!

Our keyword is Epic.

You can link up just below.

The Lounge Logo

“Travel makes one modest. You see what a tiny place you occupy in the world.”

-Gustave Falubert

I have no idea who Gustave Flaubert was, but I love this quote.  It make me think about my own actual size, its comparison to the all encompassing schema of existence, the universe…

Incidental?  Important?  Insignificant?

What is me?

The answer is perspective.

I’ve travelled, just not enough.

Not as much as I thought I would.

Nowhere near enough as I want to.

One day I will.

And these are just a few of the epic places I hope to experience.

1998as-023-27s-w

The Ganges River, India

Arizona-desert-Desert-50

The Arizona Desert, USA

Biggest-Jesus-Chris-Statue

Christ the Redeemer, Brazil

great-wall-of-china

The Great Wall, China

Katherine Gorge - Northern Territory

Katherine Gorge, Northern Territory

new-york-city-central-park-skyline-aerial-view

New York City, USA

niagara-falls-canada

Niagara Falls, Canada

Ayers-Rock-Summer

Ayers Rock, Northern Territory

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Red Square, Russia

amazon jangle (4)

The Amazon Jungle, South America

I could go on.  It was hard to stop, really,

Had any epic travel experience?

Love,

Robo X

P.S. Message me for image credits.

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

5 responses to “Oh, the places you’ll (maybe never) go!

  • Kate Morell (@fromkatietokate)

    Those places look wonderful. Funnily enough, I linked a travel post of an epic adventure of mine. That quote does ring true, doesn’t it. It is nice to think beyond our own little self in this vast world.

  • Lydia C. Lee

    Flaubert wrote Madame Bovary….(and according to some, he is who helped make Maupassant great – I would argue Maupassant is great, Flaubert just saw that and helped him get published).
    As for travel, has anyone ever travelled enough. I’ve been to many great places but my list never shrinks. Top of my list is Hawaii to see the lava fall into the ocean and Sweden to see the Northern Lights. Where is that lotto win??

  • This Charming Mum

    So much world, so little money! I’ve done quite a lot of travelling but there is SO much more I’d like to see. I’m hoping to tick off a few of the more epic Australian destinations with the kids in the next few years, in lieu of more OS adventure.

  • Emily

    What beautiful pictures. Sigh.

    (Thanks for hosting The Lounge. I am linking the only post I’ve ever written that contains the word epic. Once. Not in the context you’re probably looking for. Thanks for letting me get away with it!)

  • melbournemum1

    Hi hun—how long is your linkup open for? It’s Saturday night and closed already??? Kx

Leave a reply

