Original Happy Place

Little Robo was a quiet girl.

She carried a book wherever she went and at night, she would read with a torch under her blankets.  Sometimes Little Robo would get into trouble for not listening; usually though, it was because she was completely immersed in yet another story.

 

 

In the days before Foxtel, ABC 4 Kids, DVDs and tablets, books were it.

And you could get a new one every week from the library!

Books:  My original happy place.

There are simply too many to mention but here’s a very tiny sample of the books, series and authors I loved as a youngster.  And these are the covers as I remember them.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Sweet  Dreams

Image

Image

I just can’t wait until I find these lying around the house again.

Linking up with Kimbo Slice for The Lounge.

What’s your favourite childhood story?

Love,

Robo X

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

19 responses to “Original Happy Place

  • Clair

    I adored The Babysitters Club, Sweet Valley High, all of Roald Dahl, Judy Blume, Morris Glietzman, Paul Jennings… Even RL Stine’s Goosebumps series got a read. Mum & dad couldn’t keep up to my seemingly insatiable appetite for books. The library couldn’t keep up. When I was on school holidays between year 11 & 12, I read all seven in the Tomorrow When The War Began series, in one week. May have been less than a week.

  • Lydia C. Lee

    In a sad admission, I’ve read the Ten-Boy Summer. I’d forgotten until I saw the picture…chicks and romance, what can I say…Interestingly, I’ve never read any Judy Blume. Maybe I should. It is referenced a lot.

  • This Charming Mum

    Wow those covers bring back memories! I always like Judy Blume but I absolutely devoured those Sweet Dreams ones. There must have been hundreds – all with almost the same cover! I bet they don’t travel well over time either. Although I’m guessing some of the Judy Blumes are equally relevant now. I’m glad my kids are already enjoying some of the classics like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory too.

  • Have a laugh on me

    Oh I loved the Babysitter Club, Nancy Drew, ALL the Judy Blume books – I hope my kids get in to this also. I was also an Anne of Green Gables sucker! I was also sucked into the Virginia Andrews collection in my teens, LOVED them.

  • Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions

    Love Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, and I had those editions too! BSC was another fave of mine, and I’d have to add Sweet Valley High and Hating Alison Ashley. I used to get in heaps of trouble for reading in bed in the dark when I was supposed to be sleeping!

  • Kim

    Ooooh these make me nostalgic! I used to get into trouble, too, and told to ‘get your nose out of that book!’ Now I’m an editor. I guess it sticks. I loved all of Judy Blume, and the Babysitters Club. Wasn’t allowed to read Deenie though – it was ‘too rude’. Geez.

  • Kimberley

    OMG, talk about a trip down Amnesia Lane! That first one, is it from the Ramona The Pest series? I LOVED that series, and all those preteen novels ala Ten Boy Summer, how I inhaled those! I reckon I still have some. And can we forget Judy Blume’s “Forever”. My catholic school burned that book. I don’t know whey they bothered because, local Library. Kx

  • Jody at Six Little Hearts

    Judy Blume – she was just so dirty wasn’t she!!! Great for a pre-teen giggle! And those teen love books were so popular and giggle-worthy too! (Especially the dirty bits!)
    Thanks for the trip down memory lane!!!

  • Grace

    Ooooh! Judy Blume books! They were definitely a big fave of mine!

  • Bec @ The Plumbette

    I loved Judy Blume and The Babysitters Club. When I was late primary school I read and collected the whole Sweet Valley High series. I loved reading books too and on a Sunday afternoon when my brother and I would be made to have a sleep, I’d read a book. Thanks for bringing up good memories. 🙂

  • Georgia

    Judy Blume, The Babysitters Club, Sweet Valley High books were all on my list of favourites growing up, along with John Marsden. I’d often stay up until the wee hours finishing a book. I’d wait until my parents were asleep, and then my bedroom light would go back on so I could finish whichever book it was I didn’t want to put down.

  • Francesca WritesHere (@FrancescaBlogs)

    Oooh Babysitters Club! That cover just brought back memories 🙂

  • Emily

    Oh man, The Baby-sitters Club. I remember having 52 of them, not including all the Summer Specials and Winter Specials and Ann M. Martin needs another million dollars Specials. I was so proud of my collection.

    I’m pretty sure I sold the lot for $20 when I was 16.

Leave a reply

