Yesterday’s Virgin

So 2014 started with a literal bang.

Here’s my list of bangin’ events, so far.

 

 

One.

Illegal fireworks organised by some fellow campers at inland NSW.  On the way back from the short bushwalk to said fireworks, I lost my camera flash.

Karma.  Participation in illegal activities.

 

 

Two.

Upon returning home to Sydney I was hit with news that I would be hosting a family function.

Fifteen people, ten kidlets, one day’s notice.

Fun.  And a great excuse to speed clean the house.

 

 

Three.

The night before this function, the impossible had to happen.  I innocently killed a couple of stray ants that I found in my front room with a little fly spray.

Upon returning to the front room twenty minutes later, I found an absolute gold mine of ants.  Tablespoons full of ants.  Some dead, some dying and others trying to get the fuck out to safe ground…

It was apocalyptic.

Too apocalyptic for the month of Jan.

 

 

Four.

Today, the day after the big family event, I realised that I have a serious case of silverfish.  Six t-shirts ruined with tiny weird looking holes.  My friend, Google says I’m fucked and need to head to Bunnings.  Stat.

But that’s a job for tomorrow.

 

 

So how’s your New Year?

I hope it’s awesome coz mine is a bit on the ‘how’re you going’ side…

 

 

Image

 

 

And as for the title of this blog post.  When I googled silverfish, this book cover popped up.

What a byline…  I think this protagonist, too, has encountered a few silverfish.

 

 

 Happy 2014!

Hope it rocks!

 

 

Love,

Robo X

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

15 responses to “Yesterday’s Virgin

  • Have a laugh on me

    Bloody bugs and insects, they are the bane of my existence!!!
    Illegal fireworks, MEH, as long as they were fantastic who cares.
    Bad you lost a flash, but at in true fireworks style, at least you didn’t lose an eye!
    My new year kinda sucks, we are on one income, with the other one on and off, so needless to say I’M working like a mad woman – BOO.
    And it’s school holidays and all I want to do is be a mum 😦
    But it could be worse, at least we all have our health
    Em xxx

  • robomum

    Yes. Boo to that. I can empathise having been in a similar situation recently. You’re right though. We have our health. And as they say, you can’t put a price on that. Wishing you more good health and some extra moolah this year! All my love X

  • Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions

    OMG, that book! WTF? I am kinda intrigued though, does that make me sick?

    I fucking hate bugs! Every year we have a plague of one bug or another, sometimes even two bugs. This year it appears to be cockroaches. So while the girls and I were away in Wagga Dave went bonkers with the outdoor surface spray, and also a little with the indoor surface spray to try and deter the little fuckers, and so far its mostly working, only seen one so far, as oppposed to the multiples I was seeing every night (and one morning! Yeah, it was that bad the little shits were out in the day time too!). I can’t wait for this plague to be over because I hate cockroaches more than any other bug in the world. Literally!

    • robomum

      Go Dave!! I hate them as well and the plague-like proportions almost killed me. I think the only thing that can get rid of them is the annual Flick. If you have a spare 300 bucks, that is.

  • Renee

    Geez. I can’t say I’ll be rushing to read that book and what the hell does it have to do with silverfish? I loved this post. I laughed out loud with number three and four. I hate to tell you, but you are fucked with silverfish. You’re going to have to move house 😉

  • robomum

    Please don’t say that!! I’m dying here… I might kick out Mr Robo instead – they destroyed his T-shirts. I think he’s got to go. 😉

  • Linda

    Oh no – hate bugs of any sort – sucks about your T-shirts ! Sorry – I got nothing to help except sympathy and an offer of a drink !
    I hope your year gets better !
    Me xox

  • mumabulous

    Chez Abs experienced a last minute convergence of friends and family on NYE too. But it was all good. Glad to have you back in 2014! Hope to catch up at future blogging events.

  • Sarah Mac

    Complete panic on Christmas Eve when I thought I was getting 7 extra guest for dinner and only had one chicken, a jar of home made chutney, a large roll of carpet and a huge bunch of keys to feed them (fortunately turned out to be a drunken hoax by Surfer Dudes ‘friends’) – NYE ended with MIss Mac throwing up the vodka jellies she’d consumed all over SD, my living room carpet and the bathroom and today I am proudly wearing the cut price (but matching!!) undies I picked up in the sales which have frolicking reindeer all over them. Oh, and my house has been invaded by giant slugs so it’s all going pretty well so far thanks 😉

  • Lisa@RandomActsOfZen

    Oh love, I’m sorry but this post made me lol! Bugger about the and AND silverfish!!
    Our new year has been a mixture of bushfires and crazy storms, so just the usual for Qld.
    Hope your 2014 improves 🙂

  • Bec @ The Plumbette

    This post put a smile on my face. I can’t stand ants or any insect in the house. I can’t even stand the geckos either. Happy New Year to you and I hope that it’s a freaking awesome year. 🙂

  • Author Bek Mugridge (@bekmugridge)

    Eeegh bugs!! We have had ants by the million thanks to a recent storm, I try to be zen about it but cannot handle them in the house yuk!!

  • EssentiallyJess

    I am always amazed at what pops up when you google stuff! I mean honestly, how? Unless, you are of course, right, and it is because she is missing half her shirt. Poor woman.
    As for you, surely your year can only go up from here right?

  • Grace

    Bahaha! That book cover is hilarious!
    I can’t stand silverfish! They’re just revolting little critters.
    You know, I actually winced at #2. There’s no way I would’ve been able to host for that many people. Well done, you!

  • lisa

    Our New Years was worse than that.We were supposed to go our street party but hubby & I ended up having an argument about nothing and stayed home and we both sulked the new year in. We can laugh about it now but it wasn’t funny at the time. Loving the book title, hopefully you get rid of the silverfish and 2014 is a good one for you.

Leave a reply

