Hump Day

Day two of the last week of school holidays and the dreaded hump day is here. 

It comes around on every school break.  It’s the day I realise that there’s limited holiday left and full-time work is just around the corner.

 

 

Great big exhale.

 

 

Most of my posts relate to the fact that I love my job and my kids at school.  I’m passionate about teaching most of the time.  But inevitably and I doubt that I’m alone on this, in the last week of holidays, the idea of returning to work bears a heavy, anxiety-inducing burden.

 

 

Today I’m worrying.

 

I’m worrying about a procedural review that I’ve been asked to conduct at school.  It’s something I haven’t done before, so I’m imagining late nights, Excel spreadsheets and tedious red tape.

 

I’m worrying about the student council elections that I have to arrange, with votes I’ll have to tally and kids I’ll have to disappoint.

 

I’m worrying about the black dog that term three weather often brings.

 

I’m worrying about the mornings and how on earth I’ll get my two dressed, fed and into the car on time, every day.

 

I’m worrying, as always, about my ‘day care guilt’ and I’m wondering if by working, I’m actually doing the right thing by my children.

 

 

Another great big exhale.

 

 

Sorry, but it’s hump day and I’m on a school holiday downer.

 

 

Do you worry about returning to work and leaving your kids?

Any tips?

 

 

Love,

Robo X

 

 

Linking with Essentially Jess for a bit of #IBOT action.

 

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

18 responses to “Hump Day

  • Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions

    I stressed about going back to work for months with Punky, in fact I think I ruined the last few weeks I had off by doing that. Its kinda like going back after any holiday though, I always felt that dread and sick feeling in my stomach, no matter how much I enjoyed what I was doing. I hope you get past it and the new term is great though!

  • Rhianna (@aparentinglife)

    Oh lovely xx Sending lots of fairy wishes and butterfly kisses your way. I worry all the time about whether I am doing the right thing or not. All we can ever do is our best and I know you always do xx

  • Have a laugh on me

    I think worrying shows you’re an awesome mumma and amazing teacher! It can’t be easy – and I honestly don’t know how you do it Robo!
    Enjoy the next few days, try and not worry about things, enjoy the break, soak up those laughs, the mess and craziness – Em xx

  • mamagrace71

    I really have so much respect for working mums. You guys do such an awesome job. I have no answers but just sending lots of support and hugs.
    Hang in there xxx

    • robomum

      Thank you G! X
      Working mums, stay at home mums… We’re all legends. I’ve been home every day for over a week with my chickens and I’m spent.

  • Me

    I think I am in the minority of Moms who worked just about all holidays and sent my child to vacation care. I didn’t do SAHM very well – in fact I sucked at it and was much better at going to work and caring for my little cherub after work and on the weekends.
    For myself, I know that going back to work after any break is hard – I continue to put positive vibes out that I will win enough Lotto so that I can stop work and just do volunteer work – but until then I will enjoy the 4 weeks leave that I do get and make the most of the time that I get to spend with my husband on leave.
    I hope that these last few days are OK and that you aren’t in too much of a funk !
    Love, hugs and positive energy !
    Me

  • Cooker and a Looker

    Ah, worry. I’m so fond of it and yet it achieves nothing and makes me miserable. If you master the secret to not worrying, will you let me know?
    PS. I never won a school election, despite consistently nominating myself, and I turned out fine. Fine, I tell you! 😉

  • becc03

    I worry all the time, but I believe this is more about the fact that you care soooo much. Just means we really take the time to consider all the options and make the right decision.
    Becc @ Take Charge Now

  • Lisa@RandomActsOfZen

    Honey, you wouldn’t be a mum if you didn’t worry 🙂
    I worry that I’m not setting a great example by not going out to work for someone else, but you do what you gotta do.
    As a school mum, I have the greatest respect for teachers, but seriously don’t know how you put up with the little buggers all day.
    Try to enjoy the rest of your break xx

    • robomum

      Thanks so much. Some days are blegh.
      It’s natural to wonder I suppose. You never really know if what you’re doing is the right thing for your child.

Leave a reply

