Mummy/Miss and Manic Mornings

 

 

 

 

 

 

My mornings are incredibly busy.  Busy to the point of manic.

 

220px-School_zone_flashing_light_warning_sign

 

Being a teacher means that I divide myself into two halves, two personalities.

 

From 6am-8am I’m Mummy, getting my own kids off to school.  This involves all the usual stuff, (I won’t bore you), as well as making myself presentable and racing out the door to embark on my hour long commute – three drop-offs, my own included.

 

While my little Crapastra putts along, we listen to music and do a little in-car dancing.  In the back seat, they fight, they cry, they laugh.  I navigate through the traffic, run lists through my head, apply make-up at the lights and secretly pray that it is not a morning where Miss 2 throws up her breakfast – her latest party trick.

 

Mummy! Mama! MUM!

 

 

After drop-off number two, I drive myself to school and park in our impossible car park.

 

My title changes from Mummy to Miss and I navigate again, this time through the corridors to my staffroom, hopefully in time to stick some bread in the toaster, which I eat on my way to my first class.

 

Freaking mornings…

 

 

My students, each with their attitudes and sensitivities, are my other children.  Some days I want to gaffer tape their mouths closed but other days, their energy keeps me moving.

 

My own children are my life, but my students is where I draw my inspiration.

 

 

It would be unethical of me to tell you their stories but some have such incredible tales to tell.  Hardship, disadvantage…  Their stories may seem far-fetched but they are very genuine.

 

My manic mornings pale in comparison.

 

The vast majority of my students make me want to try harder, be a better teacher.  They inspire me to do more and invest more, so school means something, to all of us.

 

 

Miss, can I ask..?

Miss, do you have..?

Miss, I need…

I know I won’t change their world but changing an hour in their day, providing an experience listening, helping – it can improve their existence.

 

This part of my job is not like academic achievement and report comments, it can’t be measured.  You’re rewarded with a nod, or a smile, or a student wanting to stay beyond the bell, to ask another question. 

To me, that is inspiring.

 

 

So when the last bell rings I’m heading out the door, out the car park and back in my Crapastra, navigating the streets of Sydney once more, rushing home to start the afternoon shift.

 

Freaking Afternoons…

 

 

So, what inspires you?

Do you have an alter ego?

 

Linking up with Jess for #IBOT over at Essentially Jess.

 

 

Love,

Robo X

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

18 responses to “Mummy/Miss and Manic Mornings

  • Lydia C. lee

    I love the idea that your title changes when you turn up at school…

  • Martine@themodernparent

    I think I have lots of alter egos! Mum and wife obviously is the main one, but then there is counsellor, speaker, photographer, writer. At the end of the day it is being a mum that has meant I have developed these areas of my life in a way I am not sure I would have otherwise. And each seems to give more meaning to the other. And you sound like a fabulous teacher!

    • robomum

      I have lots more as well, but the two mentioned are my main ones… And yes, being a Mum is central to every aspect of our lives. Thanks for stopping in!

  • Me

    I admire most teachers – the ones who really take an interest in the children they are teaching.
    K had one really special teacher who came to her 21st – it was lovely to hear them talking together. They still catch up for coffee every couple of months. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate what that teacher did for K.
    Thank you for making a difference in the lives of your pupils !!!
    Have a great week !
    Me

    • robomum

      Some teachers are so amazing. The way they treat their kids is beyond admirable. K’s teacher sounds like one in a million. She is very lucky.

  • Ness

    I feel so very pathetic right now. I can barely cope with the Mum role, let alone anything else. You rock, Robo.

  • Eleise

    Mornings are so manic, but then to change your cap on your way to school must be hard. How great to read that you get inspiration from your students. Keep making a difference in these kids lives and hug your kids a little longer each manic afternoon.

  • mumabulous

    This is a great post. Its so heartening to hear that as a teacher you are inspired by your students. I hope my girls only get teachers like you. My father was a teacher and he became quite depressed by the “kids” he wasn’t able to help instead of focusing on the good that he did. I hope this wont be your experience.

  • Danya Banya

    Two roles, both very important!

  • always josefa (@always_josefa)

    Love this post! I love the idea of drawing inspiration from your students. We all play different roles in our day and I think it is important to see the value and importance of each one xx
    Josefa from #teamIBOT

  • Have a laugh on me

    Ahh Robo I think teachers are SO under appreciated! I bet it must be so rewarding/frustrating/heart breaking at times! You sound like a fab teacher though, someone I wish would be there for my kids! xx

  • Kirsten

    That’s such a great description if the contrast between roles, but even more so of the strain of switching between them. I don’t have quite that experience most days, because most days when I work (for pay), my husband is home, and vice versa. So I don’t have to scramble to do school readiness and drop of before going into my own job, in fact I usually leave home at 7, when they are still waking up.

    So it’s more coming home that I have to make that transition between professional, smart, working women with interesting colleagues and ideas, to –

    Mum! Mama! Pick me up! Listen to me! Cut up my food! Guess what I did today?! Mama s/he’s [pulling my hair, sticking out if tongue/using my cards etc]!

    It’s funny, when my husband gets home from work and wants to debrief about his day, while kids are screaming, I’m trying to get dinner in the table, which is still covered with stuff (afternoon tea dishes as like as not), and something’s burning – well, it drives me up the wall. But when I get home from work I’m exactly the same. I want to talk about what I’ve been doing, what I’ve achieved, how said what etc. it’s a hard transition.

    On different note I love that you take inspiration from being there for your students. I have a friend here in Canberra who is a primary school teacher working primarily with disadvantaged students, and it just sounds like the hardest job I the world. And I’m incredibly grateful for my own children’s the hers, who are both just amazing. It’s *such* an important job.

  • Lisa @ Raising Explorers

    This post strikes a chord with me – thanks for sharing. I’m with you on the whole double identity gig! I think having kids myself has made me a better teacher, in terms of how I relate to the kids. As young teachers we have a special sort of connection with our students, and can relate on a bit of an age-based level, but having kids has awakened some kind of “motherly” teacher vibe in me. I feel myself tearing up sometimes when one of my students is upset, or telling me they’re not coping. Not the best response from me, but you have hit the nail on the head here that lots of these kids just need an adult who will listen, who asks how they are, and shows that they care. Keep on keeping on, Robo, and boo to vomit in the car!

  • Cooker and a Looker

    Teachers are so important Robomum. I could name you four that single-handedly changed the direction of my life at different points. Mornings are craptastic here, mercifully the Little Sister doesn’t vomit her breakfast – she just deposits it on the floor next to the high chair! 🙂

Leave a reply

