Killing Time

Time is going faster, isn’t it?

It feels like just five years ago that I would shop at Sportsgirl and Miss Shop for my night club staples of short skirts and chunky heels.  These days, with my conservative hemlines and flats, I’m lucky to find even a scarf in those places…

 

It wasn’t five years ago, by the way, it was more like twenty…  But it just feels like it was yesterday.

 

Time is going quickly these days, isn’t it?    Tell me it’s not just me…

 

wpid-20130525_173812.jpg

My Fox ring that I bought on my Thrifting Tour with Kimbalikes. 

So after winning a pass to hear Molly Ringwald speak at the Sydney Writers Festival, Saturday afternoon saw me travelling into beautiful Sydney Town to visit Molly.  And she was fabulous!  But you’ll have to read about Ms Pretty in Pink elsewhere…

 

Today, I’m talking about my afternoon and how I managed to drink the tiniest amount of elixir from that elusive fountain – I recaptured a small part of my youth and I’m still on a high.

 

 

So here are the highlights of my Saturday:

 

  • After Man wrangled the kids to their second play date of the day, (welcome to my world, babe), I had two hours to not only shower without interruption, but to also carefully choose an outfit and accessories.   Yes, I looked a bit on the on-trend side.
  • This part is a little unglamorous, but I caught the train and the bus into town carrying just a handbag.  A handbag!  No Dora backpack, drink bottle or spare clothes.  I did however, hang onto the mini packet of wipes – they’re indispensable, everyone should carry wipes.
  • I walked slowly down to World Square, not worried about pushing a stroller or losing a toddler.  I did a spot of browsing as the shops closed.  Aimless shopping just like the old days.
  • I stopped for some quiet reflection time and a vodka lime and soda.  I sat at the window seat of a bar, looking out onto busy George Street.  I observed people on the street, watched the monorail doing the last of its runs forever and listened to the different snippets of conversation around me.  I wasn’t Mum, or Wife or Teacher.   For an hour or so, I was just another face in the crowd.

wpid-20130525_170849.jpg

Not a clear shot, but I had a cozy spot at the pub. 

The traffic was for once, a welcome distraction as I looked out my window.  Each time it would start and stop, I noticed drivers clenching their steering wheels and throwing their heads back in annoyance at the amber lights.  As the minutes edged closer to 6pm, the driver frustration grew more apparent and understandable.

 

I suddenly felt very lucky.

 

For the first time in a long while, I could just kill time.

Like the old days.

I was killing time, I was without purpose.

And it felt so refreshing to do that, to just be.

 

 

How often do you kill time?

When was the last time you did something just for you?

 

 

Killing time today with the effervescent Jess and #IBOT.

 

Love,

Robo X

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

14 responses to “Killing Time

  • Clair

    Killing time is such a foreign concept! I’m glad you had a wonderful time, you deserve it xx

  • Katyberry

    Bit by bit over the past 18 months or so I have been reclaiming who I am, and enjoying it. I go out with friends for drinks, have fun at work functions, go shopping and indulge in fashion etc.
    At our holiday the other week I had a glimpse of my carefree youth. The kids were still around (of course) but I found this most amazing perfume shop in Melbourne and chatted for ages with the owner about different perfumes and their business. It was amazing and my husband couldn’t stop commenting afterwards about just how HAPPY I was, and how I hadn’t seemed so carefree in ages. It was wonderful.

  • stephanie jefferson (@stephsjoy)

    How lovely Robomum for you to kill time. I was just in the city yesterday san kid and had 30 mins to kill – so i shuttled myself to the yarn shop for some serious browsing!

  • Me

    How good to have some time to yourself. Fortunately for me I have quite a bit of me time as A is a FIFO worker in Townsville and K is 21 and busy doing her own thing a lot of the time.
    Glad you enjoyed yourself !
    Have the best day !
    Me
    #IBOT visitor

  • Lisa

    Killing time as a mum is so rare. So glad you were able to get some me time. I would love to have listened to Molly!

  • Kirsty @ My Home Truths

    I would kill to have some time to kill! Glad to hear that you were able to turn back time for the afternoon and reclaim a bit of the real you. Looking forward to hearing more about Ms Pretty in Pink too!

  • Lydia C. lee

    If you’re only killing time, it will kill you right back. I don’t know what that song is but it’s in the recesses of my brain.
    I was listening to David Malouf’s paper on Contentment and one of the things he raised was our technology in our hands constantly lead to a restlessness, and I think that takes a way a bit of that ‘killing time’ as it leads to plugging any quiet moments with an email/facebook/blog or whatever…

  • Sam Stone

    I hear you about Miss Shop and Sportsgirl! It feels like yesterday that I used to shop there. They wouldn’t let me in the door these days 🙂
    I love to watch TV or read a magazine or book to kill time. Oh, or listen to music. I love music.

  • Janet @ Redland City Living

    Ohhhhh that sounds wonderful – killing time – what’s that?!

    Mind you I am not averse to getting a coffee in a busy shopping centre and doing a bit of people watching, which is kinda the same thing … 🙂

    Visiting from Team IBOT xxx

  • mamagrace71

    I would’ve loved to hear Molly Ringwald speak! She was like my style icon in the ’80’s! Loved her in “The Breakfast Club”.
    Mr Surfer took the boys out to play on Sunday morning, not coming back till 2pm. I had the best time just with my lappy, writing and just basic, all essential chillin’ 🙂

  • Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions

    Sounds fantastic! I haven’t really had a chance to kill time like that since Punky was born, and I don’t really see the chance coming up any time son after PJ#2 gets here. But I live in hope that one day I will get my opportunity to do it again and it will be glorious!

  • EssentiallyJess

    I love when you do something different like that. After DPCON, I wandered around Sydney City with Glowless and Zoey and in the afternoon we just sat looking at the harbour, having a white wine. It was so divine and special, just because it never happens

  • robyn @slightly deep

    Goodness that sounds heavenly! I think hubs and I REALLY need to do some time-killing sometime soon. Our two are getting to us a lot at the moment! Glad you had a nice time.

  • Emily @ Have a laugh on me

    Isn’t it just fantastic to do nothing by yourself! And at the bloggers meet up today I even dusted off my sexy Oroton handbag – it nearly died of shock to get an outing! With nothing inside but wallet, lippie and phone! I bet it was great and you deserve it! Em x

Leave a reply

