A List and Some Memes

This is the first link-up for my new baby, The Lounge and as fate would have it, I’m suffering from an epic case of writer’s block.

 

In my 35 plus years on earth, there is SO much I wanted to be good at, or thought I could be good at…

Alas, I’ve wasted countless hours doing the things I enjoy most – all of which have very little to do with self-improvement.

 

 

I had lots of trouble writing this post.  I even googled the phrase, ‘biggest regrets’ for inspiration but I was still unable to put the proverbial pen to paper.

 

 

What do I think I should be better at by now?

Where do I begin?!

 

Amidst all of my inadequacies and disasters, how is it possible to choose just one topic?

 

 

So instead of a traditional post, this is what I came up with:

 

Robo’s short list of things she thought she’d be better at by now.  And a bunch of memes.

 

 

Dwight Failure

I love Dwight Shrute

 

Swimming

I claim to be a water baby but I’m a shite swimmer.  I love the pool and adore the beach.  I can swim, but because I didn’t learn to swim properly as a tot, I can’t do it well.  I can’t swim laps with any confidence.

My swimming blows.

 

Swimming

 

 

Eating well

I can’t say no to good food and wine.

If it’s there and it looks good, I’m going to shove it down my cake hole.  And if there’s an occasion, I’ll drink to it.  If I’d developed better self-control with food and wine, I’d be more Elle Macpherson than Elle McFeast right now.  No offence, Libbi.

I should know how to eat by now.

 clean eating

 

 

Languages

When I was a youngster, the community language at school was Italian.  In high school, it was German.  I aced them both.  ‘Gifted’ was the word teachers used to describe my ability with languages.  In true Robo fashion, I didn’t bother continuing in this area, nor did I focus as much as I should have on my mother tongue, Greek.  I can get by, but it’s nowhere near enough.

I should be able to speak Italian, German and Greek.

 

google translate

 

 

Following through

I have a long list of things that I have started but have not seen through to the end. Home improvement projects, knitting, art, school work, household chores…  This list has no end.  By now, I thought, I’d be better at commitment, at finishing things…  But I am still a quitter.

Why do I never finish anything?

 

Quit

 

 

Courage

At this age, I thought I’d be better at saying no.  I can do it in front of a class and with my own kids.  I can do it with Man. But if a colleague or a perfect stranger asks something of me, I agree to do it.  Today, I took a risk and said no to a man in the queue at Myer and of course, I received an epic telling off.  Back in my box.

I should have bigger balls by now.

 

true story

 

 

So there you have it.  Just a smidge of the post I didn’t want to write.  And a few memes thrown in for good measure.

But trust me, there is so much more I thought I’d be better at by now!

 

 

What did you think you’d be better at by now?  Are you anything like me?

 

The Lounge Logo

 

Don’t forget to link-up at and leave love at The Lounge, which is being hosted this week by Tegan at:

Musings of the Misguided

 

 

Hope to see you there!
Robo X

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

34 responses to “A List and Some Memes

  • Tegan

    I can call bullshit on one of those things…not finishing anything you start…The Lounge. We worked together and it came together…and here you are linking up!

  • Ness

    Don’t worry Robo, I can’t swim at all, so you’re doing better than me, And I’m with you on eating well. That meme really IS my idea of clean eating. Not really, as if I’d ever mop the floor when I can sit down with a cup of tea and a cakie. Ahem.

  • Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions

    There are a few things on this list that I could have added to my post too, such as not finishing things! I did a personality test once and it was one of the things that came back in the positive and negative boxes…I am really good at coming up with new ideas and projects but absolutely useless at following through and finishing things! I drive my husband nuts!

  • Kim

    If your swimming blows, you’re doing something right. Bubbles! FTW! I’m with you though.. I live in that yes box. Hate that box. Let’s workshop boxes hey? Over some wine (organic?=good, right?).

  • Have a laugh on me

    I LOVE the pics on this! And considering you teach full time, have two kids AND a shit hot blog you are doing swimmingly I reckon ROBO! Em x

  • Slapdash Mama

    Robo I could have written this post TOO! Oh god. I am a classic case of lazy. I should be a concert pianist, a champion netballer, a poet, a butcher, baker, anything!!! But too hard. And I second you on the shoving things in my cake hole, the SHAME of it all!!

  • Luisa Munoz

    Love it! I feel exactly the same. This questions left me feeling like I was having some sort of existential crisis!

    Loved the article – Luisa from The Motherhood Hearald – stopping by via The Lounge 🙂

  • This Charming Mum

    Some excellent meme choices there! I agree about the languages. I studied French for years – even studied IN France – and nowadays I’d be lucky give a confident Bonjour without sounding totally Aussie. Courage is a big one for me too. If I was braver, I’d go back to French lessons!

  • Emily

    SWIMMING! How did I not think of that? I can’t swim. I can prevent myself from drowning – just – but it definitely cannot be called swimming. I watch my daughter and husband at her weekly swimming lessons and am jealous – at (almost) 3, she’s already far better than I am!

  • Mum of Adult Kids

    I’m with you on the swimming. I would love to be able to swim laps but I just can’t seem to breathe properly when I try. I also have an aversion to public pools, and not having a pool of my own I am limited to inviting myself to a friend’s house, or splashing around in the bath!

    • robomum

      Public pools are always a bit icky. As for swimming laps, it is the best exercise. Swimsuit, a decent cap and goggles and a bit of dedication to hairlessness. Thanks for stopping in,

  • Sarah Mac

    Ah, I’m big on the not finishing things too – if only I didn’t eat my lists I might remember what they were 😉

  • Sabeen

    Hands up for unfinished projects here too! Great list and love the memes.
    Well done on The Lounge , hoping to link up soon x

  • beth

    A meme makes everything better, Loving the Lounge sick x

  • Trish

    My swimming blows too – i could swim a lap as long as I touch the bottom when I run out of breath. Need some inspiration ? check blog everyday in May prompts at Story of My life – even if you don’t join in every day.

  • BOYEATSWORLD

    You’re not alone. I could take on Ian Thorpe in dog paddling but that’s about the extent of my swimming prowess. 😉 Love The Lounge x

  • Marti

    Both hands up for not finishing things!

    It has taken me five months to join a couple of blog link-ups because I had a feeling my blog may’ve ended up in the back of the metaphoric cupboard with my quilts, cake making stuff, Irish dancing dreams, paints and canvas, book club, Donna Hay subscription… ahhh the list is endless!

  • Jenster

    I can totally relate to everything you have said. Half finished sewing projects, French at high school but stopped in senior years. Let’s face it…..we wouldn’t want to be perfect now, would we!!!!

    Supposedly there is value in trying lots of things! Apparently it helps you find what you are good at. So they tell me 🙂

  • Grace

    Very insightful! Feel like I know you in a whole new dimension.
    My swimming’s improved since I met Mr Surfer but when he gently suggests I take up stroke correction classes for adults, I flatly refuse. I don’t want to hear more criticism in my life!

Leave a reply

