Kyuss Lives. Mean anything to you?

The other week I went to a rock concert.

 

It was my first time at The Metro on George Street and I will say that it’s probably the best ever intimate venue I’ve experienced.

Being a Wednesday I knew I would struggle; around 7.30pm I’m usually putting kids to bed and dealing with a mountain of plates in the kitchen.

 

Not last Wednesday!

 

I was kid free, working on outfit choices and indulging in wine, before being picked up by My Man and driven to the city.

 

 

Walking through town at dusk brought back a series of memories I’d misplaced; hanging back after work for drinks, evening shopping trips, city bars and clubs until late – memories from another lifetime.

 

Heading out for fresh air was another forgotten experience.

 

The air was thick and heavy with the scent of herbage as I dodged the black shirt brotherhood to find a little brick wall to lean on.

It was a sight to behold.

 

Heavy metal dudes, stoner dudes, oldies, youngsters, women dressed up as glamorous goths, men in old t-shirts, clearly relics from concerts gone-by.

I stood there in my jeans and white t-shirt, feeling not one bit out of place; actually, feeling rather a part of a small, eclectic family.

 

Heading back inside for Kyuss, the main event, the crowd was happier somewhat, comfortable by now and ready to enjoy the show.

 

And it was a good show!

 

At this standing room only venue, I found a fine little seat to rest my weary legs.

My seat

 

And I had an uninterrupted vista of the crowd and the stage.  This band is Orange Goblin from the UK.

Kyuss

 

My Man was completely in his element.  Kyuss is his favourite band of all time so Kyuss Lives is an ‘important concert’.

 

I appreciated the music and looked on while inhibitions flew.

There’s nothing quite like live music.

 

Edited to include one of their best songs for Sunday Sessions.

 

 

Do you rock on?  Or are your tastes a little more subdued?

 

Robo X

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

14 responses to “Kyuss Lives. Mean anything to you?

  • ana74x

    Love the Metro. have never heard Kyuss, but have seen some amazing (loud) bands in this venue. Best ever? The Beasts Of Bourbon.

  • Kim

    God I love going to live concerts, the more intimate the better. However- I’m still kind of inhibited when I’m there. I never quite know what to do with myself, and worry about people looking at me. Stupid, but true. Ah well. More hardcore in my next life maybe.

  • EvieMeenyMineyMo

    The Metro is one of Sydney’s better venues. I remember seeing TISM there in days gone by. So glad you got a well deserved night out. My turn next 🙂 Neil Finn & Paul Kelly next Monday!!

  • Rachel

    I’m intrigued because I only ever think of Kyuss as the band Josh Homme used to be in before Queens of the Stoneage (LOVE them). So I actually didn’t know the band was still happening. I feel a spotify research session coming on.
    But in answer to your question I am definitely a rock girl. I was devo that I was broke when Soundwave tickets went on sale. Metallica, Garbage, The Offspring… all I would have needed were a sturdy pair of docs and I’d have been in that mosh pit for sure 😉

    • robomum

      I’ve been online too. Some major legal matter happening as well. This is Man’s band choice but I’m happy to attend. You’ll need to start a kitty for emergency situations like that. 🙂

  • Twitchy (@TwitchyCorner)

    Sounds like a great time- though I never heard of the band, so many descriptions I could relate to, like the being in the city at night feeling like a memory from another lifetime. I love live music, but hate crowds- two things that just don’t go together. So when it happens, it happens with seats, and not often!

  • Have a laugh on me

    LOVE live concert, my most recent and favourite was seeing Billy Corgan in Brisbane, what a legend but I’ve seen most of my favs in concert, U2, Green Day, Pearl Jam, Madonna, Red Hot Chillis, Metallica etc – glad you had a ball and isn’t it nice to see the husbands so happy, esp when they hardly get out much! Em

  • Grace

    Nothing like live music to get the soul rejuvenated!
    Sounds like you had a great time! It is always bizarre to go back to all these places as a mum/wife. It’s like “Wow, when did I get all responsible and stuff…” 🙂

  • Cate Brickell

    I’ve only ever been to two concerts in my life, but I’ll leave that story for another time

    Thanks for linking to sunday sessions

  • Sydney and thrifting | RoboMum

    […] Bar at Sydney University.  We were there to see a band called Unida, the lead singer being from another band I saw recently with My Man. We were treated to three raw music sessions – Unida, Sweden’s, […]

Leave a reply

