Inaugural DP Drinks

Aside from the Shire boys’ loud conversation about Jenko’s drunken sex session and an interruption at Town Hall station which caused a 40 minute delay, my train trip to Milsons Point for the Digital Parents Drinks was a relatively calm experience.

 

I needed calm.

Tackling a huge personal challenge like this required lots of calm.

 

I was apprehensive and generally shitting bricks about meeting other Bloggers.  And after walking from the train station to the Kirribilli Club in the heat, I had become a very sweaty bundle of nerves.

 

I remember saying to someone, although I don’t remember who, that I have no trouble talking in front of my students at school but in front of other adults, I am a wreck.  I’ve carried this lack of self-confidence around with me forever, so turning up at the DP Drinks, as the face of my blog, took every ounce of courage that I could summon.

 

I scanned the room for a familiar face and recognised Kimbalikes from her Twitter image at a faraway table.

‘Here goes nothing’, I thought and I made my feet move toward the group of people I only knew from my computer screen.

 

I got to the end of the table and kind of just stood there, smiling; a sweaty, smiling weirdo.

Three faces looked up at me and I think I said,

“Hi, I’m from Robomum”.

 

There were a few brief seconds of confusion where I’m sure they thought, WTF, but I was swiftly welcomed to the table with a collective,

“Ohhhhh hhiiiii!”

 

Within a few minutes, I was walking to the bar with Mumabulous, to order my first drink.  I don’t remember that conversation very well, I was still a nervous panic, so Mumabulous, if I seemed a bit bizarro, please don’t hold it against me.

 

 

I blog under my pseudonym of Robomum, still too afraid to come out of my blogging closet.

 

Saying my name, out loud to real people, was surreal.

 

For me, the DP Drinks was about coming forward and taking ownership of my thoughts and words.  It was an opportunity to discuss a shared passion, to learn from others, to share and to meet the people behind the blogs I know so well.

 

A little highlight of the afternoon was when Jodi from Mummyhood101 looked up my blog.

“Is this it?” she asked and showed me her screen.

After keeping my blog a secret for so long, seeing it appear on someone else’s screen was a tiny thrill – a confirmation of sorts.

 

So thank you to my fellow Bloggers, for welcoming the physical me so warmly into your community.

And to anyone else in my situation, who is still in the Blogging closet, do yourself a favour and attend the next Bloggy Drinks.

 

It was one of the most supportive and encouraging forums that I have ever experienced.

 

Shout outs to the people I met and apologies if I forget anyone:

 

Brenda from Mumabulous, Kim from Falling Face First, Becci from Birdy Num Num, Jodi from Mummyhood101, Catherine from Cup of Tea and a Blog, Grace from With Some Grace, Kylie from A Study in Contradictions and Veronica from Mixed Gems.

 

And a VERY BIG THANKS to Brenda Gaddi for being so legendary in the support department.

 

Sharing this one with IBOT over at Essentially Jess

 

Robo X

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

27 responses to “Inaugural DP Drinks

Leave a reply

