School Year’s Resolutions

New Year’s Resolutions…

I don’t make them.

I think I have, in the past but they are futile to me.

 

Instead, I make School Year’s Resolutions.

 

 

If you’ve read my blog, you’ll know that I’m a Teacher.

 

What this means to me is that the holidays, at home with the kids, are a complete write-off.  Nothing gets done, I’m always chasing my tail, I’m stressed, I’m tired and my little retro home becomes a little retro mess.

 

I take my hat off to the mums and dads who stay at home.

It’s bloody Hard WORK.

 

 

I come into my own when school starts.

 

I refine my processes regularly and see each new day as a fresh challenge.  Getting My Man out the door to work, getting the kids off to day care and school, dressed and hopefully fed.  Making myself look normal, fashionable even, so the teenage girls don’t pick on me in class, (seriously – a bad outfit is very distracting).  I’ve got mental checklists in my head, bags to pack, uniforms to iron and lunch boxes to assemble, all before 7.15am

 

School to me, means organisation and I’m one of the small percentage of people who love it.

 

So every year, I make School Year‘s Resolutions.

 

Here they are:

 

Family

 

1.  I will be organised for the next day, from the night before.
2.  I will wake up early.
3.  I will be punctual because mornings are going to be tranquil and methodical.
4.  I will do a grocery shop once a week so I don’t have to buy my lunch.
5.  I will cook once every two day and work out some kind of healthy, easy meal plan.

 

 

Personal

 

6.    I will do two late days at work to catch up, prepare, mark work and do all the things I’m not able to do during the school day.
7.    I will run, as per my pact with Mummy Loves to Run and Very Busy Super Mumma, on Mondays and Fridays, or whenever possible.
8.    I will do some volunteer work in my new community.
9.    I will make and keep all personal arrangements including but not limited to, hair and beauty appointments as well as shopping dates with myself and time with my friends.
10.  I will continue to blog between one and two times a week.

 

 

Anyone who has any involvement with a school will know what a highly structured environment it can be.  There are strict deadlines, start and finish times, bells that tell you when to move, when to eat even…  If you don’t factor yourself into the day, you can become lost in it.

 

So that is how I roll, term after term.

I try…

 

Does the beginning of the school year mark a big change in your routine and mindset?

What are your tricks?

 

Robo X

 

Blogging today with #IBOT over at Essentially Jess.

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

22 responses to “School Year’s Resolutions

  • Cathy

    I’m a full time SAHM now but I used to be a primary school teacher. In some ways it was easier to retain order when I was teaching, although hard to get myself out the door in an orderly looking state! Good luck with the year ahead! Love the start of school years – they are filled with promise 🙂

  • Enid Bite'Em

    Full-time Mum last year, back to full-time work this year (Mr BE is going to be the SAHD). I’ve bought myself a two vinyl chalkboards, a diary, a calendar … for home and school … we’ll see how it goes … the beginning of the year always FEELS organised … good luck with your year 🙂

  • musertegan

    Reading your comment about how a bad outfit can be distracting made me chuckle a little bit. I remember one unfortunate supply teacher that we had regularly. Her last name was Pumpa…that provided all kinds of fodder teens and her dress sense was stuck in the 80’s, complete with mullet perm and shorts up to her arm pits. We even nicknamed her Mrs Poodle at one stage.

  • Eleise @ A very blended family

    I love that you have back to school resolutions. It is so hard to be organised to work, blog, be a mum and look after yourself. Good luck with keeping your resolutions this year. From IBOT

  • homelifesimplified

    I think it is awesome that you have back to school resolutions.

    i kind of think i could do with the regimented work place like a school – can someone ring a bell and tell me to stick to a schedule (i lack discipline / delayed gratification and get distracted a lot) – deb xx

  • Declutterbug

    I love your blog, only discovered it recently but it has become one of the ones I seek out specifically. As a SAHM I am always glad to read of good teachers and the care and attention that goes into their job…even the outfits 🙂 enjoy your new school year, may your class be kind, and just naughty enough to make you smile 🙂

  • Bossymummy

    Wow, you would have to be super organised to achieve all that! Good luck and hope your year is enjoyable 🙂

    Hello from #teamIBOT

  • Kirsty @ My Home Truths

    I love your goals and I have similar ones as we enter the school year here as well. I am married to a teacher so I do understand all the demands on your time and how timetabled and scheduled school can be. I’m a big believer in getting as much ready the night before so the mornings can be a little less stressed! Good luck for the coming school year!

  • verybusysupermumma

    They are great goals & it’s funny, I always make my goals or resolutions on my birthday (November) so it’s like they are already in place by the new year.
    Keep up the good work.
    One thing that I’ve done this week is not think of all the things I have to get done today – I’ve been telling myself these are things I’m getting done for tomorrow so I feel like I’m ahead of the 8 ball. I put the washing out tonight, packed the boys bags for tomorrow. Just feels like I’m already ahead 🙂
    Go you good thing!!

  • mummylovestorun

    Wow you are one busy mama! I love your personal goals. A good mix of things for you and for others. So Monday and Fridays I will look out for your post-run tweets :=)

    Hope return to school went well!

  • Zanni Arnot

    Sounds good. I need to resolve for tranquil mornings too. We don’t even really have a schedule, though preschool starts Monday. But leaving the house is always the most stressful time of the day. I also will try and run regularly.
    Hope the return to school was fine, and routines have worked themselves out. Good luck with your resolutions. x

  • Mumabulous

    I’ve been a school Mum for one and a half days now. Bring on order is all I can say. Wishing you all the best of luck with all of your goals.

  • C J

    Ahh I just organise the children to be organised. Oh I’m a renegade mum. Oops. 😉

  • Have a laugh on me

    If you’re serious about community work then please come help me sort my shit out!!!!
    Like Mumabulous I’m a newbie school mum and routine is the way to go – you must be a shit hot teach!!

Leave a reply

