Please, no photos

I love reading blogs with photographs.  It gives me a sense of who the writer might be and it adds depth, another aspect of authenticity to their important story.  The blogs with which I am most familiar, have each shared images with readers.  Some I follow, involve the writer sharing images with each post, daily some of them.  Over time, I have read about their experiences and I have witnessed them grow and transform, become better mothers, fathers, partners.

My favourite blogs are not the highlight reels, to borrow a term from my pal, Chrissie Swan.  They don’t just share the best bits of life, A La Facebook.  The blogs I like are the warts and all, candid, scary at times, true accounts of someone’s reality.  It’s an honour to read about someone’s reality, the good bits and the not so good bits of life.

I admire the way these bloggers share their images, especially photographs of themselves and their families.  This type of writer is an intrepid writer, courageous.  To find the words to write about your life is one thing, however to include photographs is downright gutsy and an incredible gift to give to humanity.

I cannot be so intrepid.

I cannot reveal myself in the physical sense. 

I just can’t. 

I have thousands of excuses:  I’m a high school teacher.  What if my students read it?  What if my kids find out?  My Man doesn’t really like my blogging.  What if no-one reads my blog?  What if someone reads my blog?  I don’t want someone I know reading my blog!

A thousand excuses, thousands of stories…

The real truth is this:  I’m embarrassed to share the pieces of me that I’ve spent years trying to hide.  I’m incredibly proud of some things, but frightfully ashamed of others.  Some parts of life I want to relive, celebrate, wrap with a huge bow and give to the universe.  Other parts I want to hide, I act as though they didn’t happen, I ignore them, try to forget them.

If you’ve read my blog, especially the very first post, you will know that I am writing for Clarity and for Me.  Achieving clarity will involve writing about all of those truths, the good bits and the not so good bits.

The dilemma is that if I’m just sharing my stories, I don’t have to hide and I can tell you absolutely everything.  But if I tell you who I am, I may shut down and perhaps never write again, never utter another word.  What irony!

So to those who need to connect with a visual here is my response:

I’m not as hot as this:

And I’m not as bad as this:

I’m somewhere in the middle.

I’m just not that courageous yet.

So for now, please, no photos.

Robomum X

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

4 responses to “Please, no photos

  • Kirsty @ My Home Truths

    I can understand your POV – my husband is a high school teacher too and it’s just so hard to navigate social media and the internet these days when your students could be anywhere. I’m happy to share photos of me on the blog but I don’t share photos of my kids – I just can’t do that. Just so you know, I’m picturing you as Tina Fey in my head right now, that would be in the middle of the two beauties above, wouldn’t it?

    • robomum

      I don’t think that teaching is the only thing holding me back but it is a very valid point. Could you imagine being found out by school kids?!?! Tina Fey! That’s so funny. Close. Similar cultural background but much better looking. Lol…

  • Officially freaking out for DPCon13! | RoboMum

    […] officially freaking out for DPCon13 because I blog anonymously, which you can read about here and I’ve got this underlying identity issue happening. I’m still working it all […]

  • WTF is that on your head? | RoboMum

    […] might already know that Robomum blogs incognito, so I won’t be sharing with you my own personal […]

Leave a reply

