A little bit of help

I chucked a sickie today.

Admittedly, I woke up with a shocking headache.  I couldn’t get it together for long enough to even get dressed.  So I called in sick, took two Panadol and went straight back to bed.

An hour and a half later, on my second attempt at waking up, I felt like a million bucks. Headache gone.  You Little Ripper!

On Fridays, Mum looks after my kids while I go to work.  She arrives early and spends the whole day here, at my place.  On Fridays, I often return home to happily exhausted kidlets and a pot of dinner bubbling away on the stove.   Sometimes she’ll run a quick vacuum, or fold a basket of washing.

My kids adore their Grandmother and love her visits.  My mum is gold.  I don’t know how she does it but this weekly gift she gives me and my family is priceless.

Today, as usual, she was here right on time.

She fed the kids breakfast before the fun started.  All morning, I could hear squeals of laughter, silly stories and lots of songs.  The TV and tablet were off but the imagination was in overdrive.  Sometimes I wonder if I’m doing my kids a disservice with all the technology they access but more on that in another post.

For my kids, Fridays are obviously all about talking teddy bears and going outside to play in the garden.  Good old-fashioned Grandma FUN.

Mum being here today and my not-so-sickie-after-all, allowed me to get to two things I hate doing.  Packing away clean laundry and cleaning up the little area where we dump backpacks, handbags, shoes and jackets.

Now they’re done!

I even got to shower and blow dry my hair without interruption.

4.30pm and I’m sitting on the lounge.  The kids are playing with their toys on the rug.  I feel pretty good right now.  Invigorated, uncluttered.   Ready to tackle the weekend of birthday parties, swimming lessons and grocery shopping.

A little bit of help goes a very long way in Mumhood.

God bless Mental Health Days but more importantly, God bless our Mums.

Thanks Mum.  I love you.  X

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

4 responses to “A little bit of help

  • mummylovestorun

    Awwww your mum is rockin! I think the relationship between a child and a grandparent is so special. Your children are so blessed to have that time each week. I bet your mum loves it just as much!

    I long for the days of blow drying my hair again… Seems there is hope. Enjoy that wkd!:=)

  • Questing Jess

    My mum is amazing too – she gets so much done while keeping her cool and still having time to enjoy the moment. She is definitely my goal-post for being the best mum I can be! I don’t think I’ll ever be as awesome as her, but at least I have a great example to follow 🙂

Leave a reply

