Blogger’s Block

Writing is something that comes naturally to me.  It always has.  I can’t speak publicly, nor can I think on my feet very well but give me pen and paper and I’ll generally knock up something pretty interesting.

Years spent reading other people’s blogs always made me think I could do it.

I could blog.

I prepared by making a long list of things I wanted to write about.  Easy.

I set up a neat little area in my front room and called it my ‘writing space’.  Too easy.

Admittedly ‘writing space’ felt a bit ostentatious but I was, after all, starting a blog.

Blogger.

So when I finally sat down to start, the reality of my new, self-proclaimed title hit me.

My great ideas suddenly seemed pointless.  My neat little writing space was ineffective, evidently better used as a parking lot for Matchbox cars.   And time.  Time slipped away so incredibly quickly.  I would no sooner open my laptop before a child would cry out and the lid would close again.

It became abundantly clear that blogging was not as easy as it seemed.

I don’t know if it was the pollen from my fresh flowers but I suddenly became anxious about my writing ability, about what I had to offer.  I was choking, stifled.

Something I had set out to do for Me, for that all important quest for clarity, was starting to stress me out.

Something was wrong.

I snapped.

I scrapped the romantic version of writing that I had conjured up in my head.

I binned the vase of now, not-so-fresh looking flowers .

My workspace moved to the living room, in front of a blaring ABC2.  I wrote in my lunch break at work because I felt like it and blogged on my phone on Tuesday afternoon.  Yesterday I wrote on the front porch at home and today, I’m posting from upstairs, while Mr 4 plays with a new packet of clothes pegs on the rug.

My ability came back, naturally.

Natural.

This afternoon I tweeted a question about blogging schedules and a wise Tegan said to forget schedules.  ‘Quality over quantity’, she said.

I completely agree.

Right now the only blogging schedule I can keep to is, ‘when I can’.

When I’m not Robomumming.

When I feel inspired, I’ll sit for a bit and see if I can knock up something interesting.

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

4 responses to “Blogger’s Block

  • Tegan Churchill (@misguidedmuser)

    Thanks for the mention. I really struggled when I first started with what to right. I would sit down and all of a sudden it would go wooossshhh straight out of my head. Now I write my posts in a word document first. If I write a whole post in one sitting then that is awesome. If not, then I can come back to it. Good luck with keeping your writing up and keeping it real. Us mummas are busy creatures and we need all the outlets we can get.

  • Nathalie Brown

    Doesn’t matter where you write your posts, start gaining reader interaction by commenting on other blogs, I only blog monthly if that keep interacting on twitter like you do, you write beautifully and honestly- from the heart and that’s the best place to write from, xxx

  • clairzilla

    I wasn’t sure if be able to blog much either, but once I start the words flow out with ease. I’m enjoying your blog xx

Leave a reply

