Happy and Silly

‘Today we’re being happy and silly’.

I tweeted something like that earlier today and stuck by it all day.

I overlooked the biscuit crumbs on the rug, stepped over the toys and spent the day being happy and silly.

I hung out in the retro kitchen today, cooking, pottering and straightening the foodstuffs in my pantry.  Sounds like work but as sad as it is, I enjoy doing this type of thing. It makes me calm.

Every now and then I ran through the living room yelling at the top of my lungs, “You can’t catch me!” This of course started a sprint race around the house and a dust storm, clearly visible in the sunshine streaming through the windows.  I ignored the dust as my son and I stomped out Usain Bolt lightning bolt manoeuvres in the hall way.

My Man took the kids out one by one to buy a few things from the local shops.  Even when hubby appeared at the front door with a naked Little Missy, (she threw up in my Crapastra), I didn’t let it bother me, I just ran a bath and let My Man deal with the cleaning of the car seat.

Today I am being happy and silly.

We went outside.  Played with our dog and walked around the yard.  Lots of weeds and fallen over pots plants.  Leaves in the pool. Toys absolutely everywhere.  I also nearly stepped in dog shit, so I picked that up. But as for the rest, I ignored it.

I spent some time in our sun room, writing.  I just put a few thoughts down while watching my gorgeous kids laugh and play together.  I felt tranquil for the first time in a long time.  The pressures of the week at work slowly dissolved, the manic, ‘getting it all done’ craziness just didn’t figure in today.

Our beautiful friends we’re due to come around at 4pm for a BBQ.  Instead of cleaning up and packing away toys as I normally would, I played in the kitchen making family favourites we could all enjoy together.  After all, they came to spend time with us, not assess the tidiness of our home.

I was happy.

And now, the kids are in bed and the friends have gone but instead of cleaning up the BBQ mess and heading off to bed, I’m just going to write, tweet, watch James Bond on TV and drink the rest of this twenty one dollar red that The Man bought on special.  Housework can wait until tomorrow.  Or Monday after work.

Today I was happy and silly and I loved it. 

About Robomum

I blog after my kids go to sleep. It takes a while. View all posts by Robomum

Leave a reply

